The CSTO countries decided to send troops to Kazakhstan

Photo АР

The Collective Security Treaty Organization (CSTO) has decided to send troops to Kazakhstan.

This was reported by UA with reference to the statement of the CSTO Collective Security Council Chairman, Prime Minister of Armenia Nikola Pashinyan.

“In connection with the address of the President of the Republic of Kazakhstan K.-J. K. Tokayev and because of the threat to national security and sovereignty of the Republic of Kazakhstan, caused, in particular, by external interference, the CSTO Collective Security Council in accordance with Art. 4 of the Collective Security Treaty has decided to send the CSTO Collective Peacekeeping Forces to the Republic of Kazakhstan” – Pashinyan said.

It is noted that the troops will be sent for a limited period “in order to stabilize and normalize the situation” in Kazakhstan. No peacekeepers have been reported.

Now the CSTO includes:

  • Armenia;
  • Belarus;
  • Kazakhstan;
  • Kyrgyzstan;
  • Russia;
  • Tajikistan.

We will remind, the president of Kazakhstan Kassym-Jomart Tokayev signed the decree on introduction of a state of emergency in the capital of Kazakhstan, the city of Nur-Sultan.

Read also: Over 1,000 people injured in Kazakhstan – health ministry