Ukrainian delegation headed by German Galushchenko takes part in the 67th session of the IAEA General Conference

IAEA Director General Rafael Mariano Grossi. (Photo: D. Calma/IAEA)

The Ukrainian delegation headed by Minister of Energy of Ukraine German Galushchenko takes part in the 67th session of the IAEA General Conference. The delegation also includes Petro Kotin, President of the Energoatom Company, Oleh Korikov, Acting Chairman of the State Nuclear Regulatory Inspectorate of Ukraine, and Andriy Tymchuk, First Deputy Chairman of the State Agency of Ukraine on Exclusion Zone Management.

The priority topics of the session include the IAEA activities in the field of nuclear and physical safety and improvement of the efficiency and effectiveness of the Agency’s safeguards. In particular, a substantive discussion of nuclear safety and safeguards issues in Ukraine is planned.

For Ukraine, participation in the event is important to draw the attention of the international community to the state of nuclear and radiation safety in Ukraine in the context of the war, in particular regarding the situation at ZNPP.

The Ukrainian delegation headed by German Galushchenko is planning to hold a number of meetings during the conference. In particular, with the IAEA Director General Rafael Grossi and the US Secretary of Energy Jennifer Granholm. Meetings are also planned with the head of the UK delegation, Andrew Bowie – MP, Under Secretary of State, Minister for Nuclear and Networks; Massimo Garribba, head of the EU delegation, Deputy Director-General for Energy at the European Commission; Troy Lulashnyk, Ambassador to Austria and Permanent Representative to the International Organisations in Vienna, and Rumina Velshi, President and Chief Executive Officer of the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission; as well as Jill Hruby, U.S. Under Secretary of Energy for Nuclear Security, Adam Guibourgé-Czetwertyński, Undersecretary of State of Poland, and François Jacq, Atomic and Alternative Energies Commission (CEA) Director-General, head of the French delegation.