Nordic and Baltic countries show support for Ukraine’s efforts to join EU

Illustrative image. Photo: Pixabay

Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Iceland, Latvia, Lithuania, Norway, and Sweden will gather to provide expertise on EU membership for Ukraine.

That’s according to Reuters.

“We support an increased role for NATO in providing security related assistance to Ukraine and coordinating military support and equipment,” Billstrom said during a press conference after a meeting of Nordic and Baltic foreign ministers on the island of Gotland.

He then expressed readinness of Nordic and Baltic states to “facilitate Ukraine’s path towards membership in the European family”.

“I am grateful to Sweden’s Foreign Minister Tobias Billström and all the Nordic-Baltic Eight (NB8) foreign ministers for launching an initiative to establish a High-Level Consultative Group for Ukraine’s delegation at EU-accession negotiations. The Nordic and Baltic nations continue to provide Ukraine with vital assistance and support,” Dmytro Kuleba already appreciated such steps of Ukraine’s allies on X.

On April 9-10, Nordic and Baltic foreign ministers met at the Nordic-Baltic Eight (NB8) forum in Visby, Sweden.

Ukraine and the EU hope to launch accession talks in June before Belgium’s presidency of the EU Council ends and Hungary’s presidency begins.

Read also: Denmark allocates $6 million to restore Ukraine’s energy sector after Russia’s attacks