European Parliament will remain pro-Ukraine, – von der Leyen

EPP lead candidate Ursula von der Leyen. Photo: Ursula von der Leyen/X

The European People’s Party which won the European Parliament elections will do its best to preserve a clear pro-European and pro-Ukraine position in the institution.

Ursula von der Leyen, EPP’s lead candidate for the presidency of the European Commission, said this in Brussels as the preliminary results of the European Parliament elections had been announced, according to Ukrinform.

“I’ve been working hard to build a broad and effective majority of pro-European forces. My aim is to continue on this path with those who are pro-European, pro-Ukraine, pro-rule of law. And as of tomorrow, this work starts again,” she stressed.

Von der Leyen also promised to stand against extremism, both far-right and far-left, amid reports thar far-right parties gained more support than in 2019, winning in France and Austria.

Ukrainian authorities have already assessed the result of the EP elections.

“Judging by the results that we now have, based on exit polls, they look quite positive and encouraging. Why? Because, firstly, the expectation that there would be such a triumph of the extreme right and extreme left forces that are associated with Russia did not materialize. The second positive is that the European People’s Party received the most votes, which, by the way, includes the German parties CDU/CSU, which, during the period of full-scale Russian aggression against Ukraine, take a pro-Ukrainian position. And this gave Ursula von der Leyen (President of the European Commission 2019-2024) the basis to declare that such a broad pro-Ukrainian coalition would even be formed within the European Parliament,” the head of the Verkhovna Rada Committee on Foreign Policy and Inter-Parliamentary Cooperation Oleksandr Merezhko told Interfax-Ukraine on June 10.

In his opinion, it’s not critical that Germany supported far-right politicians as they got ‘a little votes’.

Read also: European People’s Party maintains lead in European Parliament